In 1807, Mr. Green, a baker from a village just outside of Nottingham, England, constructed Green’s Windmill. At the time, it was the largest and most powerful windmill in the area. Ten years later, Green built a house next to his windmill and moved in with his family (including the famous future physicist George Green). Around 1862, after many profitable years, Green’s Windmill stopped working and was abandoned. While the H Gell and Co. boot polish manufacturers tried to use the mill in the early 1900s, a 1947 fire forced Green’s Windmill to be abandoned again. In 1979 after nearly three decades of disrepair, the city of Nottingham acquired and restored the windmill. In 1985, the windmill and the Science Center opened to visitors.The Science Center at Green’s Windmill celebrates George Green, the son of the windmill’s builder who went on to become a famous mathematician and physicist. In 1828, Green wrote “An Essay on the Application of Mathematical Analysis to the Theories of Electricity and Magnetism.” This groundbreaking essay outlined Green’s Theorem and Green’s function, which applied mathematical theory to electricity. Both formulas are still used by physicists and engineers today. At the Science Center, visitors can learn about Green’s life and experiment with light, electricity, and magnetism.