The Pickford’s House Museum is the Georgian town house that was built by Enlightenment architect Joseph Pickford in 1770 as his family home. Pickford was a prominent architect, trained in London and eventually moved to Derby around 1760. The great architect was known for building houses in the Palladian styles. After his marriage to Mary Wilkins, Pickford designed the Pickford House at No. 41 Friar Gate. The house functioned as a private domestic space as well as a showcase for his work. Once Pickford died, the house was passed down to his relatives. In 1982, the Derby City Council purchased the home, and it now displays the interiors of the family home and illustrates aspects of domestic life from the 18th to the 20th centuries.